The weather man had said it would be cloudy and rainy. I was gratefully surprised to wake up to a beautiful sunny day. Went off to the beach for my first shoreline walk this year.

My walks at the beach are usually solitary, though there are many people around me. I am very comfortable by myself and can’t remember the last time I felt lonely. I am of course always surrounded by this big, beautiful, amazing world.

From the essay “Nature” by Ralph Waldo Emerson:

“To go into solitude, a man needs to retire as much from his chamber as from society. I am not solitary whilst I read and write, though nobody is with me. But if a man would be alone, let him look at the stars. The rays that come from those heavenly worlds, will separate between him and what he touches. One might think the atmosphere was made transparent with this design, to give man, in the heavenly bodies, the perpetual presence of the sublime. Seen in the streets of cities, how great they are! If the stars should appear one night in a thousand years, how would men believe and adore; and preserve for many generations the remembrance of the city of God which had been shown! But every night come out these envoys of beauty, and light the universe with their admonishing smile.”

Another artiest whose work I love is Vincent Van Gogh. I have a print of his “Starry Night” above my bed. Someone going by the name Copper Twist has created what is my new favorite interpretation of this painting with bacon:

I’ll finish with some art work of nature from the world of photography I came across last week

Yazoo City, USA: Floodwaters from the Yazoo river, one of the tributaries of the Mississippi, inundate crops (Photograph: Mario Tama/Getty Images)

Kommetjie, South Africa: High winds churn up rough seas to produce sea foam, washed up on the beach (Photograph: Nic Bothma/EPA)

A cloud of smoke and ash is seen over the Grimsvoetn volcano in Iceland, May 21, 2011. The cloud rising up from Grimsvoetn as a result of the eruption was seen for the first time around 1900 GMT and in less than an hour it had reached an altitude of 11 kilometres (6.8 miles), according to the Icelandic Meteorological (Institute.STR/AFP/Getty Images)

