Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.
Robert A. Heinlein

Back from cat land. I wouldn’t say it was the worst experience of my life but I am thrilled not to have to deal with cat poop, cat vomit and a 4:00 am cat breakfast meal. In appreciation of my efforts they have given my their traditional going away present, 5 lbs of cat hair on all my clothes.

My cousin on the other hand talked about how she did not enjoy her vacation as much as in the past, a bus tour of Scotland, because of how much she missed her feline family.

Here is one cat who has made an unusual friend.

Comments from the Daily Mail:

“The pair clearly enjoy each other’s company – every time Gebra comes in to land, her four-legged friend trots up to greet her with a friendly rub and purr.

It is believed the animals get on so well together because they have been pals since they were young.

It is also likely that they have bonded over a mutual instinct to hunt rodents.”

2) Rob Summers was told he would never walk again after he was hit by a speeding car but was determined to prove doctors wrong.

From the Guardian http://tinyurl.com/5racd5u

“Baseball champion Rob Summers was hit by a speeding car in Portland, Oregon, three years ago, which smashed into his legs and left him with appalling injuries. He was told he would spend the rest of his life in a wheelchair at best. But the 25-year-old is now making history – as the first person paralysed from the chest down to stand and take a step unaided.

The small and shaky movements that Summers has achieved spell real hope for all those who have suffered a spinal cord injury, and possibly even for those paralysed by other causes such as stroke.

When he was in hospital, doctors told Summers he would never walk again, he said. “They said that I had no hope and to just give up. My comment was you don’t know me very well. I’m going to fight until I get well again.”

To stand again and take steps, he said, “felt incredible. It was amazing. It made me optimistic and hopeful again for the future. I’m excited at being a part of this.”

Summers’ legs are able to move because of electrical stimulation from a device implanted in his lower spine. Two hard years of training, suspended over a treadmill with physiotherapists manipulating his legs to stand and walk have helped build up the spinal cord neural network which processes signals to and from his legs.

The real discovery has been that it is not the brain that is in charge of movement, but the legs and the spinal cord.

His achievement is the culmination of many years of hard work and intense scientific endeavour funded by the Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation.”

