1) Weekend Pictures From The Net

Jammed by Eriks Z

Mumbai, India: Rubina Ali, who acted as Latika in the Oscar-winning film Slumdog Millionaire, amid the ruins of the area where she lived in the slums of Garib Nagar. A fire gutted the large shanty town, which is home to thousands, next to Bandra station in Mumbai’s suburbs (Photograph: Divyakant Solanki/EPA)

Award-winning photographer Zed Nelson reflects on the cultural and commercial forces that drive a global obsession with youth and beauty.

Christopher, 22. Chest wax. J. Sister’s salon. New York, USA

Has vanity shown up on your door step recently?

From a slide show on the Boston Globes “Big Picture” Blog of the lava lake boiling in the depths of Nyiragongo Crater, in the heart of the Great Lakes region of Africa. http://tinyurl.com/493n7u8

At the surface of the lake, bubbles of gas explode. The surface is permanently churned by fury from the earth’s crust. (Photographer Olivier Grunewald)

2) Words

a. I was using the “Shuffle Songs” feature my iPod when “Creep” by Radiohead popped up. The ghost of my failed relationships paid me a visit.

From “Creep” by Radiohead:

When you were here before
Couldn’t look you in the eye
You’re just like an angel
Your skin makes me cry
You float like a feather
In a beautiful world
I wish I was special
You’re so f…… special
But I ‘m a creep
I ‘m a weirdo
What the hell am I doing here?
I don’t belong here

I don’t care if it hurts
I want to have control
I want a perfect body
I want a perfect soul
I want you to notice
When I’m not around
You’re so f…… special
I wish I was special

b. This is “59 Sound” by Gaslight Anthem

The lyrics ask “I wonder which song they’re gonna play when we go.” “When we float out into the ether.”

What song would you want to have played?

