1) Quotes – Abraham Lincoln

“Character is like a tree and reputation like a shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.”

“I destroy my enemies when I make them my friends.”

“When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad. That’s my religion.”

What is a favorite quote of yours?

2) The World In Pictures – Thursday

a. Bilbao, Spain: Cloud formations during sunrise

b. Kinolawa, Japan Workers wearing protective suits prepare to dispose of culled chickens after a case of bird flu was confirmed (LA Times)

c. On Friday, a government report will recommend whether a raft of proposed uranium mines should be approved, which would jeopardize some of the canyon’s natural beauty and its flora and fauna

A million acres of land in the canyon was withdrawn from exploration in 2009 to allow time for an environmental assessment

Should mining be allowed in the Grand Canyon National Park? Even if this will reduce our dependents on foreign sources of these minerals?

3) Science

NASA STEREO Reveals the Entire Sun

