1) Friday In Pictures

Indian school girls wearing traditional dress help each other get ready for the Basant Panchami festival celebrations, which mark the start of spring, in Amritsar, India. (Altaf Qadri/ AP)

Whooper swans at dawn in Hokkaido, Japan. This photo earned Stefano Unterthiner, a National Geographic photographer based in Italy, second prize in the Nature Stories category of the World Press Photo contest.

A traditional rural wedding in Henan province, China, of Rebecca Kanthor, an American citizen, and Liu Jian, a local musician (Photo by Carlos Barria)

2) Human Planet

Below is the trailer, spactaular in its own right, of a new series produced by the BBC series that marvels at mankind’s incredible relationship with nature in the world today.

3) Happy Birthday Charles Darwin

Christians believe Jesus saved mankind from original sin. For Atheist it was Charles Darwin.

The International Darwin Day Foundation http://www.darwinday.org/

4) San Antonio by Naomi Shihab Nye

Tonight I lingered over your name,
the delicate assembly of vowels
a voice inside my head.
You were sleeping when I arrived.
I stood by your bed
and watched the sheets rise gently.
I knew what slant of light
would make you turn over.
It was then I felt
the highways slide out of my hands.
I remembered the old men
in the west side cafe,
dealing dominoes like magical charms.
It was then I knew,
like a woman looking backward,
I could not leave you,
or find anyone I loved more.

