1) In Pictures

Storyteller by Balazs Pataki

A sculpture I would love to have in my backyard – A giant bunny, actually titled “Crawling Lady-Hare” by Sophie Ryder, at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park in West Bretton, Wakefield, England.

Sunset Story by Valentin Bondarenko

2) In Words

a. Vision by Erica Funkhouser

With age mirage assuages
what the youthful eye
would have studied
until identified–
chicory? bluebird? debris?

Today no nomenclature
ruptures the composure
of a chalk-haze
pausing, even dawdling.
now and then trembling
over what I’m going to call
fresh water.

b. Wednesday, was the 202nd birthday of one of my favorite poets, Edgar Allen Poe, January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849.

For everything you could ever want to know about Poe here is a link to the web site of the Museum of Edgar Allen Poe, in Richmond, Viriginia.
http://www.poemuseum.org/index.php

My favorite quote of his:

“Beauty of whatever kind, in its supreme development, invariably excites the sensitive soul to tears.”

I must admit I often show a rather hard exterior to the world. I don’t remember crying since my grandmother died, when I was nine. I do think I have a sensitive soul, I just do all my crying on the inside. I am sure that part of this is because I was born into a culture, 1940’s America, where boys weren’t suppose to cry, at least not in my family.

How sensitive is your soul? Is your public face the same as you private one?

