1) The wisdom in comics

a. Agnes “A closed mind gets musty and may even start to mold. When people seem to be out of their minds they may be just out to get some fresh air.”

b. 9 Chickwood Lane Advise column. Question – “I am thinking of going into politics, but I am worried, do politicians go to hell?” From Paved with good intentions.

Answer – “Don’t worry politicians never go to hell. Quite the contrary. Hell goes to the politicians. It tags along, pays all their meals, arranges junkets, etc. Don’t worry Paved, you’ll be well taken care of. Hell knows a bad thing when it sees it.”

***We interrupt this segment of the post for the following commercials, brought to you by “Ed’s Politics” ****

Dear President Obama, I don’t want my politicians to be civil. I want them to speak with passion about what they believe in.

“Blood libel” refers to the claim that religious minorities, usually Jews, murder children to use their blood as part of a ritual. Dear Sarah Palin you are a clueless idiot.

***We resume our regular progaming***

2) Martin Luther King was someone who spoke with great passion, and knew a great deal about false accusations. He was killed for his beliefs. Dr. King is being honored in January 17, 2010. His contribution to making the words in our Constitution “that all men are created equal” a reality makes him one of the greatest American leaders of my lifetime.

This recognition took longer than it should have. Many today still don’t agree Dr. King deserves it. While the rest of the country celebrates Dr. King, the Tea Party in several states are holding rallies to support their views, and the Tea Party supported the Governor of Maine, Paul LaPage, who has declined to take part in MLK Day celebrations.

***Up Date – Maine governor LaPage changed his plans and did attend the NAACP breakfast honoring Dr. King. I applaud Gov Lapage for recongnizing the importance of this day. ***

Ronald Reagan was also opposed to the holiday. He threatened to veto the King Day bill but recanted only after Congress passed it with an overwhelming veto-proof majority (338 to 90 in the House of Representatives and 78 to 22 in the Senate).

Sen. John McCain (R-AZ) voted against the creation of the holiday to honor King, and later defended Arizona Republican Governor Mecham’s rescinding of the state holiday in honor of King created by his Democratic predecessor. After his opposition grew increasingly untenable, McCain reversed his position, and encouraged his home state of Arizona to recognize the holiday despite opposition from then-Governor Evan Mecham.

On May 2, 2000, South Carolina governor Jim Hodges signed a bill to make Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday an official state holiday. South Carolina was the last state to recognize the day as a paid holiday for all state employees.

On April 3rd King made his last political speech in support of the black sanitary public works employees, represented by AFSCAME Local 1733, who had been on strike since March 12 for higher wages and better treatment. In one incident, black street repairmen received pay for two hours when they were sent home because of bad weather, but white employees were paid for the full day.

“And then I got to Memphis. And some began to say the threats, or talk about the threats that were out. What would happen to me from some of our sick white brothers? Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

At 6:01 pm an assassin’s bullet took his life. King died at St. Joseph’s Hospital at 7:05 pm.

