Happy Hanukkah to my Jewish friends.

Two Jewish girls light the first candle of Hanukkah in Ashkelon, Israel.

1) World Aids Day

 

Tripura, India: Aids awareness activists light candles

An Article in the Christian Science Monitor:

http://www.csmonitor.com/World/Global-Issues/2010/1201/World-AIDS-Day-2010-Top-signs-of-progress/A-worldwide-decline-in-infection-rates 

“According to the 2010 report from UNAIDS, the United Nations’ HIV/AIDS program, the overall HIV infection rate has declined almost 20 percent in 10 years – from 3.1 million new cases in 1999 to 2.6 million in 2009. That decrease follows decades of explosive growth in the number of HIV infections.

According to the Monitor’s Africa Bureau Chief Scott Baldauf, much of that decline can be attributed to funding from donor nations – such as the US President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), which registered $6.8 billion in funding in 2010 – and private organizations. Much of that money goes toward education about prevention and prevention tools, such as teaching people about safe sex and making condoms more available.”

2) The Christmas Tree

 

I have been in New York to see the Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree a few times.  Hope to get back there again someday.

Any Christimas tree experences you would like to share?

My earliest memory as a child was when I was living with my grandparents.  They spent all day decorating a ginormus, to my five(?) year old eyes, christmas tree.  They made the mistake of leaving the room.  I reached out to this amazing, wonderful object.  CRASH!  I pulled it down on top of my.  My grandparents were the first to learn that letting me handle anything of value is a really, really bad idea.

