In her Friday post my blog buddy Mandy asked a question – Where are the miracles?  In my comment I went off on one of my rants and forgot to actually answer her question.

http://mandythompson.com/2010/10/22/where-are-the-miracles/

1) My perception is that I define the word miracle very differently than people of religious faith.  Since my faith is based in people, and the natural forces that shape my world, I see, or read about, miraculous events, created by people, and the natural forces, every day.  A cure for an illness that kills people is a miracle.  Someone overcoming enormous odds, or handicaps, to be a success in life is a miracle.  All of these miracles reinforce my faith in people.

My mother was told, because of her heart condition, that she could never survive childbirth.  Both me and my sister owe our lives to a miracle.

I attempted to end my life, but survived.  That I am here to write this blog is a miracle.

2) On the Christian Answers site I found a good definition of what I perceive the word miracle means to people of religious faith:

http://www.christiananswers.net/dictionary/miracle.html 

“A true miracle is an event in the external world brought about by the immediate agency or the simple volition of God, operating without the use of means capable of being discerned by the senses, and designed to authenticate the divine commission of a religious teacher and the truth of his message.”

The Bible has many accounts of the miracles performed by Jesus to prove to his followers that he was divine, the Son of God.

From Bibletruths.net – http://www.bibletruths.net/Archives/BTARO46.htm

“The nature of Jesus’ miracles. Not only does an understanding of Jesus’ miracles produce the belief that Jesus is the Son of God but such understanding also helps us detect and avoid pseudo miracles.

 Jesus had power over nature. Jesus exhibited power over nature when he turned water into wine, calmed the tempest, and walked on the sea (Jn. 2: 1-11; Mk. 4: 35-41; 6: 47-50).

Jesus displayed miraculous power over the material realm. Jesus manifestly displayed miraculous ability over the material in the feeding of the five thousand (Mk. 6: 37-44).

Jesus promised his apostles that they would be able to perform miracles. “Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils…,” Jesus said (Matt. 10: 8). Compared to Jesus’ miraculous ability, however, their powers were limited (Jesus had unlimited ability, the apostles had the baptismal measure, Jn. 3: 34, Acts 1: 5-8, ch. 2). 

 Jesus demonstrated his power over death. Jesus raised Jairus’ daughter, the widow’s son, and Lazarus from the dead (Mk. 5: 22-24; 35-43; Lk. 7: 11-17; Jn. 11: 34-46).

Questions –

What is your definition of a miracle?

How important are miracles to reinforcing your faith? 

Have you ever witnessed a miracle? 

What is the most recent miracle you know about?

