1) The big story of the day was of course the rescue of the trapped miners in Chile.  As I write this 24/33 have been saved.

It still amazes me that I can watch this drama unfold before my eyes, even though I am a thousand miles away.  As we watch the joyous faces of reunited families for a little while we are all Chilean.  

Chilean miner Jimmy Sanchez (center left) is welcomed by his father after being brought to the surface in the Fenix capsule on October 13, 2010 after spending a 10-week ordeal in the collapsed San Jose mine.

2) Painted People, from the Guardian

 

Jammu, India: Actors dressed as the demon Ravan and the Hindu god Rama rehearse a dramatisation of Rama’s life

Miami, US: A man has glitter applied as he prepares to take part in the Miami Broward One carnival. The event celebrates Caribbean culture

  

Madrid, Spain: A child attends the final parade of the Vivamerica festival

 

3) I hear mostly complaints about the negative impact of TV, and the Internet, from my fellow retired neighbors, even as they go online to talk to their grandchildren who live on the other side of the country.  For me its a miracle of technology how the world is being brought to my living room.  Are my glasses too rose-colored?  Maybe I just need some new neighbors.  🙂

Are you more of an optomist or a pessimist about the future?

I now mostly avoid the complainers.  I choice to spend my time with people who smile, and laugh, more then those who seem to have a permanent frown etched on their faces.  Fortunately most of my friends share my more optimistic view of life, maybe that’s we choice each others company.

Do you make a conscious choice about which friends you spend your time with?  Of course while we can choose are friends, we can’t choice our family.  🙂

 

