1) From Sunday’s Guardian “24 Hours In Pictures”.

http://tinyurl.com/2w8y5l9

Wuhan, China: The parents of around 400 freshmen students sleep on mats laid out on the floor of a gymnasium inside an university campus in Hubei province. The university set out mats for parents accompanying students on their first day of study

My perception is that in America parents might drive their son/daughter to college, but no student, at any level, wants their parents to come to school with them.  Of course with the University providing sleeping quarters the parents can save some money to pay towards the tuition.  Given the cost of four years of college in the US, the most many parents can afford is a floor mat.  🙂

How much did you enjoy your time in school, at the highest level you attended?

I went to night school at Pace College, New York City, while I worked.  I can’t remember any year of school that I enjoyed.  I got good grades, A average, because I was very good at test.  I was a terrible student in class, and hated every minute of it.  I also hardly ever did more than the minimum amount of homework.  Graduating from High School was one of my few happy moments as a teen.

2) From NASA

Volcanic cones on Mars that are similar in size and shape to cones found in Iceland where hot lava has run over wet ground. The heat from the lava boils the water which then bursts up through the lava flow in a steam-driven explosion. A long series of such explosions is needed to build up one of the large cones. The image was taken by the HiRISE camera onboard the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter.

Mars: This image, provided by NASA, shows sand dunes near the Martian north pole where the landscape is dominated by a massive erg (sand sea), much like parts of the Sahara desert on Earth. The image was taken by the HiRISE camera onboard the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter

If you were offered a trip to Mars would you go?

I would rather go to Mars, or the Moon, or even just into to outer space above earth,  than any destination on the planet.

