1) Pictures of the Day – From the Guardian:
 
 
a) Montreal, Canada: A young boy plays at a water fountain. A high heat and humidity warning is in effect for several regions in Canada
 
 
The heat and humidity has come back.  Wish I could join that kid in the fountain.
 
The temperatures are in the high 90’s, with unhealthy air quality for “sensitive groups.”  My lungs are telling me I have now become a very sensitive guy, which is something my ex-girlfriends would find hard to believe.  🙂
 
b) Under jobs that suck – Guarding manholes in a moon-soon.
 
 
Mumbai, India : A woman walks past civic officials guarding manholes on a flooded street.
 
There is stormy weather in our forecast.  We may need these guys when it hits.
 
A co-worker named Earl was the kindest, gentlest person I knew.  A different Earl is going to pay the Connecticut coastline a visit.  However with its current storm track Earl is expected to only waving as he passes us by, but likely slamming the coastline further north.
 
2) Eighty is the new forty.
 
Dr. Paul Greenwood, 84, has issued a paper, to be published Thursday in the journal Nature, that reveals a new potential drug target that, according to the prevailing hypothesis of the genesis of Alzheimer’s, could slow or halt the devastating effects of this now untreatable disease.
 
A link to a New York Times article about Dr. Greenwood’s research – http://tinyurl.com/24h5fet
 
Alzheimer’s is the bogey man for the elderly.  Forget something when your young and you laugh it off.  Forget something when your old and your first thought may be about losing your mind.
 
Paul Greenwood is living proof that age doesn’t limit are capabilities.
 
Dr. Greengard, who was awarded a Nobel Prize in 2000 for his work on signaling in brain cells.  He still works in his Rockefeller University lab, in New York City, seven days a week, walking there from his apartment two blocks away, taking his aging Bernese mountain dog, Alpha.  I wonder if Alpha would prefer he call a cab.  🙂 He got interested in Alzheimer’s about 25 years ago when his wife’s father developed it, and his research is now supported by a philanthropic foundation that was started solely to allow him to study the disease.

Has age significantly impacted the overall quality of your life?  Do you think it will when you reach eighty?  Don’t factor in illness because that is something we can’t predict.

My life has become if anything better now that I have reached 67.  My body has slowed down some, but I am still as active as when I was younger, just at a slower pace.

The primary benefit of getting older is that while my short-term memory is not what it once was, this has forced me to concentrate harder on what I do.  Also being retired from the workforce means I can spend more time on what I want to do, not on what I have to do.

