1) A Chow Chow dog, dyed to look like a panda, is groomed at the Dahe Pet Civilization Park in Zhengzhou, China, on Tuesday. The park bought four dyed Chow Chows, and a Golden Retriever dyed to resemble a tiger,  from a pet market in Sichuan as an attempt to attract visitors, local media said.  

Panda Dog

I doubt many people where fooled, and we can see this poor dog isn’t buying it either.  

Any funny stories about dogs you would like to share?  

2)  On the Grasshopper and the Cricket by John Keats:  

The poetry of earth is never dead:
When all the birds are faint with the hot sun,
And hide in cooling trees, a voice will run
From hedge to hedge about the new-mown mead;
That is the Grasshopper’s—he takes the lead
In summer luxury,—he has never done
With his delights; for when tired out with fun
He rests at ease beneath some pleasant weed.
The poetry of earth is ceasing never:
On a lone winter evening, when the frost
Has wrought silence, from the stove there shrills
The Cricket’s song, in warmth increasing ever,
And seems to one in drowsiness half lost,
The Grasshopper’s among some grassy hills.  

What does your summer reading list look like?  

3) I was reading one my favorite poems, Howl by Allen Ginsberg, which was banned in the US when it first came out.  There are many obscene lines in the poem.  

It got me thinking about the controversy that one song created in 1963, the Kingsmen version of “Louie Louie”.  

I remember me, my friends, and everyone else in America, trying to figure out the lyrics to the song, which of course everyone knew were dirty. Even the FBI, after a two year investigation, couldn’t interpret the lyrics, which had been intentionally slurred by the Kingsmen.  Yes the FBI investigating a song.  It was banned in several states.   The Governor of Indiana, Matthew Welsh, personally prohibited its playing.  What the heck would they have thought of Lady Ga Ga.  🙂  

Louie, Louie is actually a fairly innocent Jamaican ballad about a sailor returning to see his girlfriend, Louie.   

The actual lyrics:  

Louie Louie, oh no
Me gotta go
Aye-yi-yi-yi, I said
Louie Louie, oh baby
Me gotta go
Fine little girl waits for me
Catch a ship across the sea
Sail that ship about, all alone
Never know if I make it home
CHORUS

   

Three nights and days I sail the sea
Think of girl, constantly
On that ship, I dream she’s there
I smell the rose in her hair. 
CHORUS 
Okay, let’s give it to ’em, right now! 
GUITAR SOLO 

  

See Jamaica, the moon above
It won’t be long, me see me love
Take her in my arms again
Tell her I’ll never leave again  

CHORUS  

Let’s take it on outa here now
Let’s go!!  

Can’t have such obscenities polluting the youth of our nation. 🙂  

