In a world filled with so many distractions, and demands on our time, one of the hardest things to find is peace.  Just saying the word makes me smile, and for many of us it’s something we long for, rather than have.

Our brains are wired to constantly take in, and respond to, what is happening in the world that surrounds us.  It takes discipline to slow down our thought process to a state where we can feel at peace.

For the Christ Follower finding peace means seeking the Lord. To make the time to spend quiet moments alone with your God.  During these times the Lord will calm you and give you his rest.  I read about a bumper sticker that says, “No God, No Peace. Know God, Know Peace!”

Perhaps the kindest thing we can say to a neighbor is “May peace be with you.”

Question – What do you think is your Peace/Stress reading? 

I think most of us would settle for 50/50.  The last few years I was working, 70+ hours a week, experiencing the joy of commutor traffic, mine was probably 80% Stress and 20% Peace.  Now that I am retired from work it’s closer to 80/20 in the other direction.

I selected Psalm 122 to focus on because I read it was about peace.  I can easily see why. Verse 7 – “May there be peace within your walls and security within your citadels.” Verse 8 – “For the sake of my borthers and friends, I will say, “Peace be within you.”

I hope spending some time reading Psalm 122 will help bring you peace.

Psalm 122 (New International Version)

A song of ascents. Of David.

 1 I rejoiced with those who said to me,
       “Let us go to the house of the LORD.”

 2 Our feet are standing
       in your gates, O Jerusalem.

 3 Jerusalem is built like a city
       that is closely compacted together.

 4 That is where the tribes go up,
       the tribes of the LORD,
       to praise the name of the LORD
       according to the statute given to Israel.

 5 There the thrones for judgment stand,
       the thrones of the house of David.

 6 Pray for the peace of Jerusalem:
       “May those who love you be secure.

 7 May there be peace within your walls
       and security within your citadels.”

 8 For the sake of my brothers and friends,
       I will say, “Peace be within you.”

 9 For the sake of the house of the LORD our God,
       I will seek your prosperity.

