1) Valentine’s Day: 

The first love song I can remember, from 1950:  

Doris Day – Bushel and a Peck 

A song that represents my love life 🙂 : 

J. Geils Band – Love Stinks 

What songs is your favorite for Valentines Day? 

Some Valentine Poems  

Without love, the rich and poor live in the same house.
Anonymous 

Love is like an hourglass, with the heart filling up as the brain empties.
Jules Renard 

I said to you, “Oh, please be mine;
Be mine forever, Valentine.”
I must have seemed like quite a fool,
Although I thought I was being cool. 

I swore that we would never part,
As I put my hand upon my heart.
Had I been thinking with my head,
I’d probably have fled instead. 

Joanna Fuchs 

 

Be My Valentine

2) Darwin’s Day 

For my friends from outside the US pick a favorite leader from your country.

http://www.darwinday.org/home/index.html 

Some quotes by Charles Darwin: 

If the misery of the poor be caused not by the laws of nature, but by our institutions, great is our sin. 

I love fools’ experiments. I am always making them.  

How paramount the future is to the present when one is surrounded by children.  

We must, however, acknowledge, as it seems to me, that man with all his noble qualities… still bears in his bodily frame the indelible stamp of his lowly origin. 

The highest possible stage in moral culture is when we recognize that we ought to control our thoughts.  

Share any quotes by any person that has significantly influenced you. 

3) Presidents Day 

I have voted for every winning candidate for President since my first vote for Lyndon B. Johnson in 1964.  Given the record of some of them I don’t say this with pride.  🙂 

I actually voted for Tricky Dick Nixon twice.  I guess we can be fooled again (The Who). 

If I had to pick one President to celebrate on Presidents Day it would be our 4th, James Madison, who was responsible for the “Bill of Rights”, the first ten amendments to the US Constitution, one of the greatest political concepts every implemented. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_of_Rights_to_the_United_States_Constitution 

From Wikipedia: 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Madison 

“As a political theorist, Madison’s most distinctive belief was that the new republic needed checks and balances to protect individual rights from the tyranny of the majority.” 

Which of the Presidents would you pick?  For my friends from outside the US pick a favorite leader from your country.

