Simon Peter the Apostle is one of the most important figures in the New Testament.  As it says in Mathew 16:18 Jesus refers to Peter as the rock he will build his church on.  Peter’s faith in Jesus however did not become strong until after Jesus was crucified, and the resurrected Jesus appeared before him.

Do you agree that in order to develop a strong trust in the source of your faith, it must first help you get past a crisis. 

In Mathew 14:25-31, when Jesus walks on the lake, Peter asks “Lord, if it’s you command me to come to you on the water.  Jesus tells him to come.  Peter gets out of the boat, but fear overcomes him and he sinks into the water.

In Mathew 16:21-23 Jesus tells his disciples that he will suffer many things, must die, and on the third day he will be resurrected.  Peter takes Jesus aside, saying, “Never Lord! This shall not happen to you.”  Jesus response is “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me.”

After Jesus is arrested Peter denies him three times:

Mathew 26:69-75

69Now Peter was sitting out in the courtyard, and a servant girl came to him. “You also were with Jesus of Galilee,” she said.

 70But he denied it before them all. “I don’t know what you’re talking about,” he said.

 71Then he went out to the gateway, where another girl saw him and said to the people there, “This fellow was with Jesus of Nazareth.”

 72He denied it again, with an oath: “I don’t know the man!”

 73After a little while, those standing there went up to Peter and said, “Surely you are one of them, for your accent gives you away.”

 74Then he began to call down curses on himself and he swore to them, “I don’t know the man!”

   Immediately a rooster crowed. 75Then Peter remembered the word Jesus had spoken: “Before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.” And he went outside and wept bitterly.

However, after seeing the resurrected Jesus, Peter affirms his love to Jesus three times:

John 21:15-17

15 When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”
       “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”
       Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

    16 Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”
       He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”
       Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

    17 The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”
       Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”
       Jesus said, “Feed my sheep.

My perception of the lesson Peter’s life has to the CF is that being human you will have moments of doubt.  You will not pass every test of faith you face.  Do not let these moments of doubt turn you from your God.  Persevere and your faith can become stronger.

