Being the Atheist here I have mostly question, and not that many good answers. 🙂  The primary purpose of my Bible study was to understand the guidance so many of my friends live by better.  I have learned a great deal so far, which I think you all for.

Today I think I have some pretty good questions.  🙂

Do we humans have a completely free will to choose our own destiny, or is our fate preordained by God?

Are we all like actors on a stage, and it’s God who has written the script.?  Of course even if we are like actors, we still do experiences all the love, joy, and pain of living, so it might not make any difference if we can’t change the script.  🙂

In looking at the 10 verse in Romans 5, I read about the two son’s born of Rebecca, Jacob and Esau.  It says before they were born God “according to election” “calleth” the elder to serve the younger.  God loved Jacob, but “hated” Esau.  I have read that in the language the Old Testament was written in the word used for “hated” can be interpreted several different ways.

Was Esau’s destiny chosen for him by God, before he was born?  I also think of Judas.  Was he preordained to betray Jesus?

I have read that God does elected some people to perform specific duties(?).  Do these elected people have any control over whether they perform what they have been chosen for?

Romans 5:6-13

9For this is the word of promise, At this time will I come, and Sarah shall have a son.

 10And not only this; but when Rebecca also had conceived by one, even by our father Isaac;

 11(For the children being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth;)

 12It was said unto her, The elder shall serve the younger.

 13As it is written, Jacob have I loved, but Esau have I hated.

 14What shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? God forbid.

 15For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

 16So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

