Faith can mean different things to each of us, but for all of us our faith must serve to inspire us, no matter what the circumstance of our life may be at the moment.  Going through the psalms I found these very beautiful, and inspiring words, the first four verses of Psalm 27:

Psalm 27 (King James Version)

1The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

 2When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.

 3Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.

 4One thing have I desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple.

The first line perfectly sums up religious faith.  The Lord is your light and salvation.  The emphasize being one the word is, without doubt.  If you come to believe this with all your heart, then there is nothing in the world that can defeat you.

Of whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?

If you have made the Lord your light the answer is no one.  Of course there aren’t many who can say they never have doubts, at least at some points in their lives.  That is when you need to work harder at making the Lord your light.  So he can show you the path to salvation not matter what obstacles you find in the way.

There is wickedness in the world.  You will encounter enemies.  I doubt there are many who can claim they are without fear.  Your Lord’s light will quiet your fears.  It gives you the confidence to keep yourself on the path to salvation.

The last verse my be the most beautiful in the Bible. To dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of your life, here in the world, and after in Heaven.  To be able to behold the beauty of the Lord, that is the great promise of salvation.

How do you keep the Lord’s light bright when you are surrounded by wickedness and enemies?

Singing Psalm 27 might help keep that light shinning on your pathway to salvation.

