(Having a hard time with WordPress.  Couldn’t get the spacing right for my new Bible study post.  Deleted the draft, then accidently zapped yesterday’s post on moral codes. I will redue my Bible study post and if the spacing goes wanky so be it.)

In reading the news headlines it is easy to find examples of the human weakness of coveting.  We see it, we want it, no matter that it may be harmful to us, or belongs to someone else.  Our human emotions may give us a predisposition for coveting.  It is a very powerful, dangerous, emotion. 
 
It takes something strong to gain control of our impulse to go after everything we have the desire for.  Another man’s wife, or worse his new car, or his collection of beer caps from every bar he has been in.  🙂  Faith is strong enough to do that.
 
I was drawn to the book of Timothy.
 
1 Timothy 6, verses 5-11 (King James Version)
 

 5Perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself.

 6But godliness with contentment is great gain.

 7For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out.

 8And having food and raiment let us be therewith content.

 9But they that will be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts, which drown men in destruction and perdition.

 10For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

 11But thou, O man of God, flee these things; and follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness.

 
What guidance has helped you to develop the discipline to not give in when you have that first, human, impulse to desire something, the rational side of your brain knows isn’t good for you?
 
I don’t have any easy, magical, secret, answer.  I have spent my whole life just working hard at forming the habit of thinking with discipline.  Sometimes I succeed, sometimes I don’t.  What I can say is that I have developed a great love for my fellow man.  I can now control my desire to covet something that belongs someone else.  When my discipline fails, the only person I harm is myself.
 
When you have given in, and being human sometimes you will, what guidance do you use to overcome what ever addictive behavior has taken control of you.
 
The hard part for me has been to recognize the problem.  Once I have, I can say I have been successful in overcoming it. Once again no easy answer, just plain hard work. Day by day, hour by hour, just putting one foot in front of the other.  I have a hard time asking for help, so it probably takes me longer, and involves more pain, then if I had less of an ego.
 
