I was going over my iPod library and found some songs that speak to my past.  I also found a very inspiring song on the blog of my friend Alece.

Let me know what you think of each song.

1) As a teen I saw the birth of  Rock & Roll.  I remember the great artiest that help develop that sound, and changed our world, Bill Haley & the Comets, Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, and of course Elvis.  One of my first favorites was Gene Vincent & the Blue Caps.  He was one of the first who played in the style that became know as Rockabilly.  “Be-Bop-A-Lula,” is in my top ten songs of the 1950’s.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gene_Vincent

2) Throughout my life I sometime get the sense that I am an alien from another planet.  I just don’t see the world as everyone else does.  Brian Wilson wrote several songs, like “In My Room”, that speak to this feeling of alienation, we all probably feel at one time or another.

His bio on Wikipedia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Wilson

The last album he collaborated with the Beach Boys on was the grand-breaking “Pet Sounds”.  Many critics consider it in the top ten of all time.  This is a song from that album I can relate to.

Just Wasn’t Made for These Times

3) My friend Alece posted one of the most emotionally inspirational songs I have heard in awhile.  

The song makes me feel an overwhelming sense of love.  You don’t have to believe in the divinity of Jesus to feel the love expressed in this song.  You can find the lyrics on Alece’s blog.

How He Loves Us – Kim Walker/ Jesus Culture

