I knew the English language was spreading across the global.   I had not realized how wide spread this “mania” to learn English was.

According to Jay Walker it is mandatory in China to teach English beginning in the 3rd grade.  China will soon have more people speaking English than any other country in the world, probably more than England, the US, and Australia combined.

Jay Walker is an American entrepreneur who founded Priceline.com.  There is an interesting article in Wired, with pictures, of his amazing personal library.

http://www.wired.com/techbiz/people/magazine/16-10/ff_walker?currentPage=all

I like the idea of having one language that all the people in the world could speak.  A person in China, another in Brazil, a third in Russia, all being able to turn on their computer and speak with each other.  The easier it is for the people of the world to communicate with each other, the more the barriers that separate us will come down.

I also like the idea of teaching all our children a second language, beside their native tongue.   I think this would encourage intercultural dialogue. 

It of course won’t stop us from fighting with each other, such as over what should be the first language of government.  In all the countries I can think of people complain about immigrants who can’t speak that countries language, be it English, French or German.  I do believe it is preferable to have one language for government. 

I think it should be mandatory, as it is in China, to have children taught in school at least one language other than their native tongue.  It would be best if the child is given a choice of what to learn.  Do you agree or disagree?

I tried two semesters of French in high school and don’t remember anything from it.  Of course I don’t remember much of anything I was taught in high school.  🙂

 

