I did a google search for Bible passages about faith.  I selected 2 Corinthians 12:7 – 10 because of the words “for my power is made perfect in weakness”. 

What I am trying gain from these discussions is a better understanding of words that are a source of so much inspiration for my Christian friends.  Given the many trials we face in life we can never have enough inspirational guidances.

2 Corinthians 12:7 – 10 (New Internation Version)

7To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. 8Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. 9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

I can see that focusing on weaknesses, rather than our strengths, is how we can best reach our potential.  I can also see that for a believer God’s grace should be a sufficient source for overcoming the “thorns” in their flesh.

Hardships are the trials that test you, and will make your faith stronger, if you trust in, find strength in, God’s grace.

If you are able to “delight”, not turn away from, insults and persecutions, this can demonstrate the strength of your faith in God.

“For when I am weak, then I am strong”, just seems to me to be a play on words.

What is your interpretation of these verses, and how would you use them to help strengthen your faith?

