Rain suggested we discuss one of the Psalms.  I started to read them, not knowing  there were 150 of them.  Now I understand why a person can take a lifetime to study the Bible.  🙂  No, I did not read them all.  🙂  Let me know if you would like to discuss another Psalm in the future.

I selected the first 8 verses(?) of the 40th Psalm for our discussion:

Psalm 40 (King James Version)

  1I waited patiently for the LORD; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

 2He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.

 3And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the LORD.

 4Blessed is that man that maketh the LORD his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.

 5Many, O LORD my God, are thy wonderful works which thou hast done, and thy thoughts which are to us-ward: they cannot be reckoned up in order unto thee: if I would declare and speak of them, they are more than can be numbered.

 6Sacrifice and offering thou didst not desire; mine ears hast thou opened: burnt offering and sin offering hast thou not required.

7Then said I, Lo, I come: in the volume of the book it is written of me,

 8I delight to do thy will, O my God: yea, thy law is within my heart.

Discussion Points

1) verse one did not happen for me.  I was crying out in prayer but I never heard, or felt, anything back. 

2) This is a very good description of the kind of depression many of us experience at some point in our lives. 

3) I really like the words “he hath put a song in my mouth”.  That is exactly what it is like when we discover our faith.  Our spirit can be seen in the song we sing as we live.  Of course we won’t know the ending of that song until we are on our death bed.  🙂

I don’t get the meaning of  “many shall hear it and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.”

4) This to me speaks to not being too vain or prideful, but trusting in God’s guidance, we will be blessed if we are respectful of this guidance.  Faith does require trust. 

I see having pride in accomplishments as positive reinforcement. Gaining some degree of pride helped my self confidence.  Having none contributed to my depression.  I agree too much can be harmful.  Vanity is a character flaw I do suffer from.

5) Jesus did make the greatest sacrifice, he suffered and gave his life.  God the father sacrificed his son for mankind.  Which is what Christians acknowledge during Easter.

6)What is required is to open our ears to what Jesus said.  It isn’t about offerings of money but offering our will to God. 

I agree that we can’t judge our contribution in terms of material wealth, money.  It is the spirit with which we sacrifice that should be judged.

7&8) “thy law is within my heart”.  The important laws they we need to obey are those we see with our hearts.  It is when we are faced with a law that conflicts with our faith that we get to judge the degree of that faith.  Are we willing to accept the consequences of disobeying the written law?  We can judge our faith by the answer.

There is an lot to discuss in the first 8 verses.   Just pick the most important verse(s) to you.  Since I am the beginner here :), I am very interested in what you have to say.

