Joni Mitchell – The Circle Game

The circle of life changes just like the season.  Today I was planning to do some housework.  I looked at the weather report and discovered it was going to be in the 60’s.  Grabbing my hat, and sun block, I headed out to the beach instead.

The temperature was warm but there was a cold wind blowing.  Not exactly great beach walking weather.  I decided to do my three mile power walk.  I walked a mile, heart attack.  Walked another mile, another heart attack.  Sigh. The older I get the longer it takes me to get back into shape from winter.

I expect it will take a month to get back into good physical condition.  Some of my other goals for 2009 may take a bit longer.

My primary personal goal is to continue to work on my tendency to be self centered.  I work at the local shelter to help my shift my focus to others who are in greater need than I am. 

I also plan to spend more time meditating, to focus on becoming a more balanced personality.

I will work on doing a better job of listening carefully to what others say.  I too often jump to conclusions and misunderstand the meaning behind of their questions and statements.

I think I am making progress.  I suspect I will continue to have to work on my character flaws for the rest of my life.

What are your goals and expectations for 2009?  How are you doing so far?

