Today Feb. 3rd is the 50th anniversary of the plane crash that took the life of my favorite rock & roll singer, Charles Hardin (Buddy) Holley.  He changed his last name to Holly when he signed a Decca recording contract.

Buddy Holly’s career lasted less than two years.  His influence can still be heard in the music played.

You can read more about the details of his life in his Wikipedia entry, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddy_Holly .

My favorite songs of his are some of the less popular ones:

Heartbeat

Words of Love

Not Fade Away

When you were a teenager was there any song(s), or singer(s),  that made you want to jump up and dance to, even if it was behind the closed doors of  your bedroom?

When I was a teen it was any song with an R&R or Rythem &  Blues beat.

Most of the dancing music I listen now has a R&R beat or a Latin rhythm.  I do have to remember to close my blinds when I dance around my condo.

Was there any song(s), or singer(s), that made you feel sad?

Hank Williams – I’m So Lonesome I could Cry

I\’m So Lonsome I Could Cry

What was the last song that got stuck in your head?

Welsh singer Aimeé Ann “Duffy” – Mercy

Mercy

