I spent some time over the weekend watching a favorite show, Alton Brown’s “Good Eats” on the food network.

Part of an episode on YouTube:

Eating is my second favorite thing to do.  🙂  I am 5’10” and never weighed more than 175, but if my health, and waistline, permitted I could plop down in front of one of those “all you could eat” buffets, assuming the food was well prepared, and eat my way through breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Being a diabetic, type 2,  my meal plan now consist of between 1,500 – 1,700 calories a day, and between 150 – 175 carbs.  The problem isn’t what I can eat but the size of the portions.  Once a week I go crazy and eat whatever I feel like.

1) Picking my favorite food product is easy, bacon, bacon, bacon.  I use to like BLT’s but realized I could eliminate the LT and enjoy the sandwich just a much.  Now I toss the bread and it’s bacon, on bacon, wrapped in bacon.

What is Your favorite food product?

2) Picking my least favorite food product is also easy, smelly, stinky, cheese.  I can’t stand to be in the same room with Roquefort  or Limburger cheeses.  I like Pizza, cheesecake and a few other dishes made with a “mild” cheese odor, but I would die from starvation before I would eat Limburger.  Actually just smelling the stuff might kill me.

What is your least favorite food product?

3) Having spent time in the Far East, where they will eat anything that they can grow or catch, I have tried some unusual food.  Insects can be found in most of the markets.  I liked the roasted ones, ants and grubs.  In Japan there is a restaurant where some of the food is still moving when served.  I have seen a lobster tail served with the tail still twitching.  They also serve what look like live baby eels, but I draw the line there.

 What is the most unusual food you have eaten?

