While I have never sung in a choir myself the tradition in my grandmothers house was to sing Christmas carols and songs on Christmas Day.

Christmas carols may be the most beautiful music there is. “Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer” not withstanding.

I can visualize myself singing in harmony with Enya, below.  What comes out of my mouth not so much. 

What are your favorite Christmas songs.  Have you ever sung in a choir at Christmas?  Did your family sing Christmas songs together at home?  Will you be doing any singing in this year?  What song do you look forward to singing?

The Christians Science Monitor came out with it’s list of new Christmas themed albums they recommended.

 http://www.csmonitor.com/2008/1210/p25s09-almp.html

 FAITH HILL: ‘JOY TO THE WORLD’ (Warner Bros., $18.98)

 ENYA: ‘AND WINTER CAME…’ (Reprise Records, $18.98)

 SHERYL CROW: ‘HOME FOR CHRISTMAS’ (Hallmark, $7.95 with purchase of three Hallmark cards)

 YO-YO MA & FRIENDS: ‘SONGS OF JOY AND PEACE’ (Sony, $18.98)

JULIAN KOSTER: ‘THE SINGING SAW AT CHRISTMASTIME’ (Merge Records, $14.98)

Here is a sample from the Monitor list:

Sheryl Crow – I’ll Be Home For Christmas

Enya – O Come O Come Emmanuel

