What a difference a few degrees drop in the humidity makes.  The temperature only dropped five degrees, from 90 to 85, but yesterday I almost died 🙂 and today I spent a beautiful summer day at the beach.

I use to go to the beach every day in summer, but with gas prices at over $4 a gallon I think I will be making the trip just one day a week, kind of a mini vacation.  Of course many people can’t get to a beach so I am not complaining, well yes I am.  🙂

I spent much of yesterday at my local Library.  Air conditioning, free newspaper, magazines and books. You can’t beat that deal.

I am reading one of my favorite books, “On The Road” by Jack Kerouac, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_road .  Kerouac wrote the book in only three weeks.

From Wikipedia:

“When the book was originally released, the New York Times hailed it as “the most beautifully executed, the clearest and most important utterance” of Kerouac’s generation. The novel was chosen by Time Magazine as one of the 100 best English-language novels from 1923 to 2005.”

It’s not a book for everyone and some critics find “One The Road” a sad, depressing tale.  I love all the interesting characters and insights about 1940’s America.  I was struck by the following, at the end of chapter 10, page 52:

“Boys and girls in America have such a sad time together, sophistication demands that they submit to sex immediately without proper preliminary talk.  Not courting talk-real straight talk about souls, for life is holy and every moment precious.”

If anything that insight is more relevant today then it was in 1947.

