On Tuesday I wrote about Chocolate so keeping to the food theme today I will post about comfort food, which brings back memories of my grandmother’s home cooked meals. 

Apologies to my NMFAPIMWLC friends, http://brenttrf.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/nmfapimwlc-week-4/ , but being a diabetic I am also on a strict diet six days a week.  The Lord may have rested on the 7th day but for me I spend the day feeding my face with whatever I want.

My grandmother, Nell, was a very good cook but she was especially know for her baking.  The smell of fresh baked bread and pies bring me back to the comfort of her dinner table.

My two favorite meals were beef stew and chicken pot pie.  What made them, and every other meal she made, special was her home made biscuits.  Whatever the food was the best part of the meal was sopping up the gravy  with her fresh biscuits. 

Her pies were the best I have ever tasted.  Her special pie crust, filled with fresh apple slices or blueberries.  Topped of with grandfathers home made ice cream.  Yum, yum, yum, yum.

 What comfort food and great meals have you enjoyed?

