Ric , http://ricbooth.wordpress.com/ , has tagged me with a meme.  The meme is suppose to be my favorite passage from the bible.  I haven’t read the Bible since I was a teenager so I’ll pick some books that are my favorites.

I am very interested in religion and systems of belief.   Many of my friends are inspired by the word of God and religion has such a huge impact on society.  My primary source for information about the different religions of the world is Religious Tolerance , http://www.religioustolerance.org/ .  They have information and resources on all the “mainstream” religions as well as the Sikhism, from India, Shinto, from Japan, Wicca and Scientology, every belief system in the world.

My meme books:

Two books that influenced me the most are “Walden” by Henry David Thoreau and “No More Secondhand God” by Buckminster Fuller.

1) There is a complete annotated edition of Walden online at http://thoreau.eserver.org/walden00.html .

My favorite passage, that literally changed my life is from Chapter 18, Conclusion, paragraph 10:

“Why should we be in such desperate haste to succeed and in such desperate enterprises?  If a man does no keep pace with companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer.  Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away.”

2) Buckminster Fuller is someone I related to because at the 32 he was a bankrupt and jobless, living in a housing project.  He had lost his daughter to polio, which he felt responsible for.  A complete failure in life.  On the verge of suicide he decided instead to embark on “an experiment, to find what a single individual can contribute to changing the world and benefiting all humanity”, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buckminster_Fuller .  A great deal of what he wrote was, and still is, beyond my ablility to understand.  As a teenager I considered my self a complete failure like Fuller.  If it was possible for Fuller to change his life so completely so could I.

From No More Secondhand God:

Though you have been out in
a froth-spitting squall
on Long Island Sound or
in an ocean liner on a burgeoning sea
you have but a childlike hint of
what a nineteen-year-old’s reaction is
to the pitch black shrieking dark out there
in the very cold northern elements
of unloosening spring
off Norway’s coast
tonight
15,000 feet up, or
fifty under or
worse,
on the smashing face of it and
here I see God.

 

 

