child1.jpgchild-2.jpgchild-3.jpgchild-4.jpgchild-5.jpgchild-6.jpgchild-8.jpgchild-10.jpgchild-11.jpg

I grew up in the 1940’s and 1950’s.  My childhood wasn’t a very happy one and I preferred to spend my time in the world of my imagination.

One of the first books I remember was “Little Toot”.  A little tug boat that would rather play then work but who ends up saving an ocean liner.  There was a record that came with the book to go along with the story.

We had a “bread man” who made home delievers.  He gave me comic books about the “Adventures of Peter Wheat”.  My favorite comics were Tarzan, the Phantom and Mandrake the Magician.  I read all the Tom Swift novels.

On radio I listened to Sky King and Sargent Preston of the Yukon.   On TV there was the “Merry Mailman”, Howdy Dowdy and Benie and Cecil.  My favorite TV hero was Hopalong Cassidy.

I am very interested to hear about anyone else’s favorite childhood books, comic and heros.

A song about a girl’s childhood I like is “Fireflies” written by Lori McKenna.  The only video I could find of the song is by Faith Hall.

