1) My fondest memories as a child were the times spent with my grandmother.  I learned about death for the first time when she died of a stroke.  I was nine years old.

This song, performed by one of my favorite Irish singers, Tommy Makem, who died last year, makes me think of my grandmother, “Nell”.  I can imagine my grandfather singing this song to her.  Manly man that I am  🙂 I must admit it can bring a tear to my eye, and always a smile to my face.

Tommy Makem, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tommy_Makem , “Will You Go Lassie Go,”

2) My best friend when I was growing up was my dog, “Buttons”.  I named him after a song by Dinah Shore, “Buttons and Bows”.  My sister Lynn named her dog Bows.  The song was a #1 hit in 1948.  I did say I was a child.   🙂     This is the only version I could find on YouTube.

3) I spent many days as a teenager dancing around my room, with my door closed of course.   🙂   The first record I bought was Bill Haley’s, “Rock Around The Clock”  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rock_Around_the_Clock .  Check out Haley’s spit curl.

4) In high school I discovered girls.  I even found one willing to go out with me.  She was the first of many broken hearts.  😦  I spent many lonely days sittting on the floor, my dog Buttons lying on my lap, listening to sad songs.  

The Left Banke’s “Walk Away Renee”.

5)  When I was eighteen I discovered New York City.  New York helped me turn my life around, absorbing all that energy, and culture.  Every time I go back to New York I see changes.  Old memories gone, new places to explore.  That’s New York and life.  The museums, Broadway and the homeless.  To me no city represents what being alive is about more then New York.

When I was away, in the Army, this song brought me back to New York in my mind.

The Ad Libs, “The Boy From New York City”

6) As a young man, when I stepped off the train in New York it was a transformation.  The quiet bank auditor into John Travolta.  He does dance a little better than me.  🙂 

I remember CBGB, watching Blondie, the Talking Heads and the Velvet Underground perform there.  It’s gone now, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cbgb .  A disco I use to go to was The Green Parrot.  Partying all night, who needs sleep.  🙂   A song that reminds me of that time is “Turn The Beat Around”.  I know I posted it yesterday but it is such a great dancing song I’ll post it again.  It is my blog.  🙂  If while listening to this song you don’t feel like getting up off your chair and start dancing check you pluse, you may be dead.  🙂

Gloria Estefan’s version of “Turn The Beat Around”

7)  Now that I am older I don’t get into New York much.  I’d like to think I carry that energy, love of life, inside me now.  I can’t wait to jump out of bed in the morning to see what the new day has in-store.  Well, maybe not jump out so much as very slowly get off my bed and make sure most my body parts are working.  🙂

The song that sums up my view of life is Natalie Merchant’s “These Are Days”.

