I was looking for bible verses that dealt with brotherly love.  I found verse 6 and 7 in the Song of Solomon that I really like.  I don’t know whether it is intended to speak to brotherly love but the image of using God as a seal over our hearts jumped out at me.

 Song of Solomon 8:6 & 7 (King James Version)

6Set me as a seal upon thine heart, as a seal upon thine arm: for love is strong as death; jealousy is cruel as the grave: the coals thereof are coals of fire, which hath a most vehement flame.

 7Many waters cannot quench love, neither can the floods drown it: if a man would give all the substance of his house for love, it would utterly be contemned.

Our hearts will be wounded, and become inflamed by jealousy, and the coal fires of hate.  We need to seal these wounds, to put out those flames, and  that can consume our hearts.  The Christ Follower can use their God’s love, which is eternal, to close those wounds, and put out those fires.

With our human emotions I don’t know if it is possible to keep from ever feeling at times jealousy, and even some degree of hate, for some of the actions of our neighbors against us.  We do need something pretty powerful to overcome those emotions.  I believe love can be that powerful.

Someone mocks us, says hurtful words, or wins a promotion we feel we deserve by bad mouthing us. The natural reaction is to get ticked off at them.  I have no idea how to avoid that.  It takes an enormous amount of self control not to strike out and return the favour. 

I interpret the Song of Solomon verses 8:6-7 as meaning the Christ Follower can use God to seal there hearts against these emotions. “if a man would give all the substance of his house for love, it would utterly be contemned.”

Whatever these verses were intended to mean I think the more a Christ Follower can keep their God’s love as a seal over their heart, the better they will be able resist the natural human emotions of jealousy and hate.  The better they can heal their heart when it is wounded.

