Psalm 121

1 I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?

2 My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

3 He will not let your foot slip – he who watches over you will not slumber:

4 indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

5 The Lord watches over you – the Lord is your shade at your right hand.

6 the Sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night

7 The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life;

8  the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

I know this is referred to as “The Traveler’s Pslam”, I can understand why.  Travelling far from home always involves some degree of risk, especially if your are driving across the country on our highways.  :)

The only long distance travelling I have done was when I was in the Army.  I spent time in Viet Nam, Japan, Hong Kong and Australia.  I have been across my countries borders to Canada and Mexico.

Psalm 121 could be used as a prayer to give you comfort when traveling to a new land, as many Christ Followers do on their missions.  I think if I was going on a mission I would keep this Psalm close to me.

Life its self is often a challenging, dangerous journey, with no clear idea what is over the hill in front of you.  You “lift your eyes unto the hills” and ask from where will help come.  We will all need help in getting over those hills.

Knowing “help cometh from the Lord” should give the Christ Follower the faith to start climbing.

God keeps a close watch over you, “He will not let your foot to slip” (If you keep faith in him).  “He will not slumber”  You can rest easy knowing he is always there, by day and night.

“The Lord will keep you from all harm.”  “The Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” 

I presume this means that no matter how much bodily harm you come to, the soul Jesus gave you will live on.  When you do come to harm, which you will experience at some points in your life, it must be a challenge to keep your faith that verse 7 is true.  I think it is only when we are tested that we find out how much faith we really have.

Of the passages I have read so far I think this may be the most comforting. It speaks to both the challenges we all face, and, for “believers”, the point that no matter where you go, what you experience, you God is always their watching over you.

My faith does not give me this kind of comfort.  I don’t think there is anyone watching over me.  The confidence I have gained, in overcoming the challenges I have faced in life,  is what allows me to starting climbing up those hills.

When you are traveling, or facing one of those hills life will through up, which prayers, Bible passages, guidance, provide with the confidence to keep going?

